Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fonts of living water, and guilty pleasures

I decided to read more L.M. Montgomery, so I'm in the middle of Rilla of Ingleside right now. It's hard to read at work during your lunch break, because I invariably tear up over lots of things, so I have to hide the sniffles and red eyes. Next up is The Blue Castle, which was, along with Gaudy Night, a very formative book for me. I felt like the story of Valancy was my story as well, and her freedom could eventually be mine. Heck, I even married a sort-of Barney Snaith, what with Bemo's rather uncouth, impatient, and yet very sensitive ways. Barney loves nature, and Bemo music, so that same appreciation for beauty is there!

I also read my one volume of Montgomery criticism, which is the book A Fragrance of Sweet Grass. It looks specifically at the concept of romance, and how each heroine in the different books uses, is used by, and comes to define their own personal meaning of the word romantic. I was focusing mostly on the Emily chapters, since I had just finished the book, and was interested in the lengthy portions dedicated to Dean Priest. When I was younger, I felt - as apparently many do - that Dean was the more interesting choice, and that it might have been nicer if Dean and Emily could have "worked it out." As I got older, I discovered exactly how stifling Dean really was in the books - to borrow a phrase Emily uses in another context, Dean dries up the font of living water in Emily's soul every time he tries to use his deep friendship with her to get what he wants. For someone whose nature is expressed by her writing, having the ability to write denied them is taking away a piece of their soul. But I do wonder what becomes of Dean, and if he ever finds someone that can become a true soulmate to him. I doubt it, but I have hopes.

In another, less refined way, I've been obtaining a new appointment television show. Thanks to Persia, I'm now officially hooked on Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. She lured Bemo and I over to the house by offering us a princely steak dinner (and damn, was it ever awesome) and then made us watch three episodes back to back. Twas enough - Bemo and I howled laughter the whole way through, and now I'm going to have to watch it religiously. But now that TAR is drawing to a close, I'll only have it and Survivor on my appointment books, so I guess I'm not watching too much tv!

This Thursday is TARcon! Squee!

1:46 p.m. - 2003-08-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce