Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Madcap Movie Review: Mr and Mrs Smith

Just got back from seeing Mr & Mrs Smith, after much anticipation. Both Bemo and I (and, from the laughs, hoots, applause, the entire audience) loved it. It's got great dialogue that's really well-delivered, smoking hot chemistry between the leads, wildly implausable gadgets and kick-ass fight scenes. I'm starting to become a fangirl of this director - he also did the first Bourne movie, which is another of my favorite films. (A note on my movie tastes might be needed here: I like movies that make me laugh, have lots of action, and feed my imagination. These are different tastes from my friends, who mostly want smart indie movies, movies with consciences, or movies about fucked up people and situations that I tend to find depressing. I will watch and enjoy these movies on occasion, but I tend to get the things they get from these movies from books instead.)

Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie have really solid, old-school chemistry, which worked particularly well during a sex scene that made me a very happy bunny. Rrrrrrr. Even the Bemo, who has in the past expressed disdain for Angelina ("I'm not following Billy Bob Thornton *anywhere*") was smitten by her. And they just didn't *look* good, but they played off each other with really impeccable comic timing. I forget that Brad has that talent, and I don't think I knew Angelina did, but it was the keystone around which the movie revolved. ("Honey, I think you shouldn't undermine me in front of the hostage.")

We'll go see it again, most likely, and I'll definitely get this on DVD.

11:52 p.m. - 2005-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce