Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I was hanging around in the U-bend, thinking about death...

Feeling poopy enough that I spent today and yesterday at home, trying to sleep. I'd skip work tomorrow, as well, but decided to simply insist on getting A) a lunch break and B) leaving as close to four as possible. The extra cash is rather needed.

Went to dinner last night with the majority of Bemo's new band, who with luck will be playing out by January. I'm glad he's able to get back into music seriously, but I'm a bit distressed at the fifty bucks a month he's chipping in towards rehersal space rental, as well as the new equipment he's planning on purchasing (with small payments, but still). I've gotten him to promise that, at the very least, he'll gig out enough to cover the money he's putting into it. I feel a trifle guilty about the whole thing, as it's something that is a big part of who he is, but I also worry about him spending cash on this instead of bills. As long as he brings in a little money each month to put towards musical expenses, I'll be fine with it all.

Went to see Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Lawdie (she says, fanning herself), there are some mightly good-looking men sauntering around Hogwarts. The movie itself wasn't anything spectacularly great, but it was a lot of fun. Would have been better with the last scene of the movie shortened, or even lopped off entirely. Most of it really is big set piece after big set piece, which is annoying because you get no time for characterization, and I'm sure people who haven't read the book are totally at sea. But I don't regret seeing it in the theater, and if there was a lack of big moments that struck me in the gut, well...I'll just say that the set dressers give me a lot of fodder for the imagination. Things drawn on chalkboards, classroom setups, the dorms, the way Moaning Myrtle's lav looks, the secret stairway up to Dumbledore's office ...these are the things that give me fodder when I go back to reread the book.

Rickman and Branagh were spot-on, but got too little screen time. But then, that might just be me *g*

8:56 p.m. - 2002-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce