Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, so I may not quit just yet. But I'm sure as hell not *happy*

Well, I got out of work earlier than I did last Saturday - by forty-five minutes. For those of you playing along at home, it means that I did indeed stay an extra hour over my scheduled allotment, and as I left the groomer who pissed me off the most that day was heard to say in a befuddled voice, "Genevieve is leaving? She's leaving? Why?" It was this groomer's fault that I stayed late. It was all due to the delicate balance of groomers being paid on commission per dog, and me being an hourly wage-slave, and she didn't think she had enough work, so she told me not to wash a dog I was supposed to do. Because, y'see, dogs that only get a bath, not grooming, are supposed to be washed by the dog bather (which would be me) and not by the groomer (which would be her). But hey, no skin off of my nose...until the dog's owner walks in and wants to know why the dog she left three hours ago hasn't been done. For the record, it was a beagle - a dog of the quick to bathe, quick to dry variety.

Once again, a little diplomatic dance, with me being put in the uncomfortable position of trying to tell somebody why her reasonable expectation hasn't been met when I wasn't the one to blame. So I scooted over to the groomer, and told her that the owner was here and I'd just wash the dog right that very second. Groomer looked at me and agreed, in a surly fashion, and then muttered, "The dog just got here, what's that lady's problem?" Uh...no. The dog had been there, in a kennel NEXT to this woman's grooming table, for three (count 'em, THREE) hours. She just hadn't been paying attention.

So I washed the dog, had to get the salon manager to trim its toenails because he was a little rat bastard and kept trying to bite my face off, and presented it, with several fumbles and one forgotten collar, to his owner. Whereupon I hightailed my soggy ass out of there, deaf to the bleatings of anybody behind me.

On the good note, since I totally ripped the ass of the chinos I was wearing while I was hoisting a few large dogs up onto a grooming table, I spent my lunch hour at Lane Bryant using a coupon and a discount special to buy a nice pair of really faded cool blue-black boot cut jeans that I adore. And I can wear them to work and, y'know, bend and stuff in them. The heavier cotton will hold in the water a little more, but I won't have to worry about the crotch seam splitting open. So it's all me, yes?

Roommate went out to a post-Halloween party in a very good costume: Bette Davis. Perfect costume, and a great look for her. She'll be leaving for training next week, so Bemo and I can romp about the house nekked, and not even have to take care of the dog because the dog will be housed at grandma's house. Woo!

11:03 p.m. - 2002-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce