Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The poop on the possible house buying

Well. *deep breath*

We won't be getting a house any time soon. Yesterday, The Bemo and I talked to a realtor and a morgage person, and based on several things, I can only qualify for about four hundred bucks a month, which won't buy us a cardboard shack underneath an overpass. I applied on my own, because Bemo's credit is so bad - because his biggest debt is student loans, we can't qualify for an FHA loan because the feds already have seen that he's in default. So we have to find a way to clear up the quite hefty student loans first, and then see where that takes us.

The biggest problem will be getting the initial five hundred bucks to get us into a consolitation program that would, in six months, get us out of default. I'm tempted to put up a Paypal button, but in a weird mix of scruples and practicality, I'd A) feel a little weird about it and B) I'm not a mega-popular writer and therefore would probably clear the vast amount of five dollars and twenty two cents. I'm also going to have to find a delicate way to broach the subject to Bemo, because he's so distraught about the whole thing that he plunges into a frozen, "I'm a useless tit, I should just stop trying" state that it tough to bring him out of. I'm willing to try and make this work, but it'll be pretty damn hard on us. We don't frivol all that much, but the little we do will have to be ruthlessly slashed. If we can find the initial five hundred bucks to even start the program, that is.

But needless to say, no buying a house for us. Mom has offered to put the down payment she wanted to give us in a 12-month CD, so it can earn a little interest and still be there if and when we are able to use it. Or, we could possibly talk her into using a small portion of the money to kickstart this consolidation program, and then just put down a smaller down payment later.

Yesterday was tough. Bemo was depressed, and I was depressed, but I spent some time with my sister and just splashed around in the pool and tried not to think about it. Although having my tv-boyfriends the Clowns eliminated on Amazing Race didn't help too damn much, now did it? Only the knowledge that they're coming to TARCON made it all better.

As for TARCON, I've decided to just stick with a Friday return. Spending Saturday there would tempt me to spend too much money. I'll go to the Met, maybe to Amazing Dim Sum, and head down to Delaware to hang with Natawhore and Baf. Sounds like a plan to me.

12:44 p.m. - 2003-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce