Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fucking NBC and fucking Bravo

Goddamn! All of the equestrian events for the Olympics are going to be on Bravo, the one channel in the Olympic cluster I don't get. Fuck fuck fuck. I'm going to see if I can prevail on some long-suffering friend to tape it for me, because I was really looking forward to seeing it this year.

Went to see the Fountains of Wayne concert - they played the Live on Penn series, which is a really low-cost (which reminds me, I owe Persia five bucks for my ticket) series they run out near the Capitol building. Getaway Car also played - they're a local band formerly known as/composed of former members of The Eccentrics. They rocked hard enough that I think I must get their cd when it comes out in September. Anyway, FoW was great, although I think they had all been indulging in the drinky-drinky before the show (hey, one of the big sponsors was Cap'n Morgan) and the lead guitar player was having some...erm...difficulty soloing. He was fine for most of it, but every once in a while he'd take a solo and it sounded like ass. You know when somebody plays a piano piece correctly, except they've accidentally shifted their hands down two keys and are playing it from that position? That kind of ass, except via a guitar. They Might Be Giants were headlining, but we shamefully left before they came on; half our party wasn't interested, one of us was interested but not very strongly, and I was sort of interested but also feeling blah from standing so long and dancing in place and so was, in the end, not really interested in staying.

I doubt anybody is particularly interested, but I started a LiveJournal, mostly so I could comment at friend's journals without having to be anonymous. Capture The Castle will also probably see more of my freakish fan squealing, because on LJ? My freakish fan squealing is so understated as to be almost nonexistant. Although, friends - pray for me. I may be getting a leeetle obsessed with the icons, and as I'm only allowed three as a free account user, that might be dangerous.

I'm currently reading one of those lengthy period novels about fluttery Victorian women that isn't exactly deathless literature, but is pretty good. It's called Debutants, by Charlotte Bingham. Then, I have Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison. I've been craving new books, so these two are a good fix.

And now, I'm all alone in my office as my boss is on vacation for a week, and the office is dead slow, and things are quiet, and I'm playing all my favorite cds loudly because there's nobody there to hear them. And life, she is good.

8:55 a.m. - 2004-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce