Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paranoia strikes deep in the heartland

In what will be my last statement on the subject (until the next time something happens, anyway) I will point out that the chief jargoneer (sort of like a mouseketeer, but not) is a professor at my old alma mater. Thank god that I never encountered her as I was wending my way through the English department, and thank god again that I didn't go on to grad work in English and have her as an advisor. I'd have leaped off the top of the Johnson Center before the first semester was finished.

I signed onto that list after the member of our list decided to make a post there airing dirty laundry, so I was a trifle confused by some weird messages that came up in the past couple of days, but all has been explained by the excellent SWOOP. You know, some times I really am happy I don't pay attention to List things all that closely. It saves me wear and tear.

Got a phone call out of the blue today from my father's youngest brother, who is in town for the same reason he was in town last time I saw him - eighteen years ago, when I was ten and my sister was being baptized, and he was at the ceremony as her godfather. I wonder if he realizes that she's turning eighteen this Saturday. He was a fun uncle when I was a little kid, and I have nothing against him despite the unfortunate fact that he's my father's brother, but I still hesitated before picking up the phone to answer the voice message he left. Bemo and I can meet him for dinner, or something, and we'll see how it goes. He's sensible enough to know that I don't want my phone number given out to the rest of the family, although I think that I enclosed my buisness card with Grampa's birthday card, so technically they can find me at work. But like I said, this uncle pretty much stayed out of the family feuding, and he's not too thrilled with my dad's behavior of late, and I have no good reason to refuse to see him while he's in town. It's just a paranoid CYA instinct that I'm overruling in favor of good manners and a genuine desire to see how he's doing these days.

The AAM inspection goes well, I think - despite some of our staff's inclination to chat with them like they're old friends that have just swung by to see how things are going. And some of them are insistent on airing dirty laundry.

4:50 p.m. - 2003-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce