Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Petrified!

It's been an up and down sort of Halloween, and it's only noon! I bought a costume yesterday, spending more than I had planned - but I really loved it. It's a Medusa costume, so I have a black velvety gown with swoopy bits of cloth hanging from the shoulders, and two additional swoopy bits that have a greek key trim, that are meant to be wrapped over the bosom and tied, to give one a sort of chiton-effect. There's a headpiece (plastic, but that's expected) that has snakes writihing around artistically, and a little gold snake bracelet.

So I'm all excited, and Bemo is too, and we're going to try and rig him up a toga sort of thing so he can be Perseus (shut up, I know Greeks don't wear togas). And I got a phone call from my friend Chess, which was great. And I came into work today and they had Halloween doughnuts, and it helped break up the boredom of redoing the lighting in the gallery. (Although I do get to run around with a light meter, which makes me feel very Ghostbusters, and makes up for the fact that I realized a few weeks ago that although hydro means water, our little meter that measures temprature and humidity is not a "hydrothermograph," but rather a "hygrothermograph." If anybody can tell me why that is, please do, because I don't know, and now I'm kind of embarassed because I've been calling it a hydrothermograph, and nobody corrected me on it because they sound so similar.)

Anyway. I get back to my desk for lunch and find a very pissed off message from the Bemo. He's stuck in Rockville, because something is wrong with one of the brake cylinders on the truck, and he's not sure how he can get it taken care of because the area he's in has a dearth of gas stations. He's sleepy and angry, not a good combination, plus I have no way of getting in touch with him to find out if he's doing ok. His last words were, "so if you get home tonight and I'm not there, well - you know why." Which, you know, doesn't help me much. All I can do is wait for another message from him. So he may not be up for doing anything at all tonight other than sleeping. Luckily, due to his schedule, he doesn't have to work tonight.

Anyway, Happy Halloween, y'all. I'll try to get a photo of myself in full Medusa-mode tonight, because I'm sure you all are *dying* to see it. Get it? Dying to see...Medusa! Hah, I so funny!

12:44 p.m. - 2003-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce