Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the Venetian wins by a nose!

We have a betting pool at work going for the new Pope - no money on the line, but bragging rights are involved. We're using the brackets my friend Em sent me - so if Duke somehow takes it, I'll be quite peeved.

I'm backing Angelo Scola of Venice. By great luck, last night on the BBC they are doing profiles of the various cardinals, and it was his turn up. So now I know that he's a smartypants - two PhD's - and in fact one of his limitations may be a perception that he's a little distant and coldly logical on account of his gigantic brain. Or he might be a Vulcan. But he's been working with Venetian youth, has a romantic background of poverty (he's from a town on the outskirts of Milan: not a Venetian native), and is apparently a little more approachable than seems at first glance. More conservative than I'd like, alas, but better than Ratzinger, who's startling resemblance to Uncle Fester is a little worrisome (scroll up for the photographic comparison). Actually, with Ratzinger, I'm not outraged about the HitlerJugen issue - I'm thinking that drawing attention to your family by paying the fines and not joining was probably a scary prospect. But I'd still rather not see him as Pope.

Most of the people in the office are going for other Italians or for Ratzinger, but one brave soul went for Ted Crilly of Ireland, who I want to find more about (we told her she needed to present a defense of her choice with a five-page essay and Powerpoint presentation). I also want to know more about Godfried Danneels of Belgium, of whom other people have had good things to say.

9:38 a.m. - 2005-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce