Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Presenting ...Fire!

Just finished giving my presentation and have gone into the bathroom to wipe all the makeup off my face. I *hate* being too warm and having makeup on - just feels gunky and greasy. I don't care what they say about light or non-greasy makeup. When you're sweating, there's no such thing.

Presentation went over well, apparently (according to boss who was in the audience). I was relieved to get through it without any major disaster - my voice wobbled a couple of times but I didn't let it show, and just cruised through. And my little cartoon people like the Firebug and the dragon were hits!

Spent yesterday evening in the hot tub at the local county rec. facility. They offer a whole lot of gym for a lot less than you get at a name-brand place like Gold's. Bemo and I are trying to get it together so we can attend whenever we want to, instead of paying a daily fee. The hot tub was blissful, although the lingering remains of my sunburn made me have to keep my shoulders well above the waterline. I always have problems breathing in that sort of clorine-heavy, too humid environment, but my muscles would have revolted against my brain if I had tried to leave early. It felt soooooo good.

Planning ensues for the Grand Expedition to Boston with Chessica to visit friends of ours. I talked with Chess on the phone last night and got all sorts of juicy gossip from her. The department is really disintegrating - lots of professors leaving because they've gotten fellowships, which is excellent for the prestiege factor, but unfortunately they haven't been able to hire replacements yet, which means that the dept. will be a ghost town until some new people come on board. We're lucky to have gotten out before the depletions occured.

2:42 p.m. - 2002-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce