Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

quotes to assuage myself

I wonder sometimes about my habit of saving old papers. All that happens is I read through them, and realize that it probably wasn't a matter of me being a good writer, so much as I was surrounded by people who couldn't write, and thus made me look good by comparison. Because a lot of this stuff, people - take my word for it - is pretty piss poor. I'm turning this entry over to quotes now, while I wait for nine o'clock and the new Sopranos.

"There is a kind of furor in us inspired by God which raises humankind above itself and turns it towards God."

--Marsilio Ficino

"Quindi, in piu luminosa parte assunto, potei mirare il sol con mortal ciglio, ne mai cosa mortal mi piacque poi." (From there having been taken to a more luminous place, I was able to look at the sun wiht my mortal eyes. From there I did never like mortal things.)

--Lorenzo de'Medici

"I go weeping for my past time, which I spent in loving a mortal thing without lifting myself in flight, though I had wings to make of my self perhaps not a bas example. You who see all my unworthy and wicked sufferings, invisible, immortal King of Heaven: help my strayed frail soul and fill out with your grace all that she lacks, so that, though I have lived in war and in storm, I may die in peace and in port, and if my sojurn has been in vain, my departure at least may be viruous. To what little life remains to me and ot my dying deign to be present: You know well that I have no hope in anyone else."

--Petrarch

"How fair is youth that flies so fast! Then be happy, ye who may; what's to come is still unsure."

--Lorenzo De'Medici

"It [love] is spontaneously born in the free will, and it cannot be constrained, not even by God, because God, at the very beginning of his emanations decreed and ordained that it be free. And love reigns on everything."

--Marsilio Ficino

7:58 p.m. - 2002-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce