Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ranting and raving and a book reccomendation inbetween

Natalie, you are the bestest. I just got a package in the mail containing a floofy baby pink MY LITTLE PONY t-shirt and a mix cd that I am currently grooving out to. Now playing : John Wesley Harding singing "Like a Prayer." I think I like this man muchly. I ran around like a loonie yesterday showing people my shirt. No better way to my heart!

Got the second book of the ASH story (was one book, but huge, so they broke it up into four) and I'm about done with it, and ready to leap headfirst into book three. Damn, these books are good, although if you don't have a strong stomach they might be too much for you. Ash is a mercenary captain, and there is no hesitation about what war in the fifteenth century. But it's not a historical book - the full title is ASH: A Secret History, so there is More Going On Than You Realize. In case you want to look for them, the individual titles are: Ash: A Secret History, Carthage Ascendant, The Wild Machines, and Lost Burgendy.

I think I may have typed out a few hesitant first lines of my thesis yesterday. Makes me uneasy, in some way, but also reassured that the first stuttering paragraph may actually have been written. Yeesh. My advisor will faint. He honestly doesn't expect me to finish, I think. He's an odd duck - very outgoing and friendly in some ways, but also an absolute prima donna. He's both been an invaluable support and aid to my friend, and also made her life hell for moments here and there. And because I don't have the scholastic rigeur that most of his other advisees do, I have the feeling that he doesn't like me much. Possibly paranoia on my part - from time to time I have the feeling that nobody truly likes me much (why should they?) but he does give off a certain vibe that if you can't keep up with his freeform flow of ideas, you're really not worth his time. Of course, he's a loonie in other ways - election time is particularly dangerous, as he only considers the democrats barely ok, and the republicans, of course, utterly beyond the pale. So during the election he backed people up against walls to lecture them about how they better support Gore or we'd never get jobs because the first thing Bush would do was close down all the museums, or some such crapola. He also took the volunteer youth corps that Bush mentioned at one point to mean that there was going to be a new Hitler Youth, banging down doors to seize contraband, and terrorizing the populace.

Hmm. Don't know how I got diverted into that little rant. See what a thesis does to your brains, kiddies? Two paragraphs written, and I'm already turning to Jello. God knows what I'll be if I do finish the damn thing.

8:51 a.m. - 2002-07-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce