Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

strange tides, good reading

Well, today was supposed to be a go work at the library day, but plans fell through. I need a particular book, but can't remember the title, and unless I can sweet-talk one of the Penn State librarians to go to the section of the stacks dealing with Renaissance art in Siena, and look for the big red square book with all the pretty color plates in it, I may be temporarily screwed - at least until I can go up myself and have a look for it. I have the faint suspicion that I know the title, but GMU doesn't own the book, and it's checked out of the National Gallery's library until February. Grrrr.

Not, of course, that all this was a good excuse not to be working on the paper. But it was so delicious to have two days off just to sleep and fuck around, that I don't feel so very bad about it. Tomorrow, the map exhibit opens, and then I'm back to the horrible grind that is the slide library. Even the boss has noticed how much more of it needs to be done, which means I have run out of time and just have to do it. It's an excruciatingly dull job, and one that cramps your fingers beyond belief within just a few minutes, so errgh.

Went to the used bookstore and exchanged a hefty pile of books for five new-to-me ones. Finally got a copy of Tim Power's _On Stranger Tides_, which I've been looking for for quite a while. I just finished it, and it was excellent, especially for Pirates of the Carribean buffs (it was written long, long before the movie, but also contains zombie pirates and curses and magic and other cool crap. Also picked up a Carl Hiaason, _Basket Case_ - I hope it's good, because while I adore a few of his books, I haven't been as into the ones he's written recently. Also got a good book on the Bauhaus, and two mystery books by an author that I'm unfamiliar with, Jane Langton. I picked them up because they're both art history related - one is set in Venice, and the other at the Gardner museum. They should be fun, although I'm a bit funny about things like this. I love medieval history, but despite reading Ellis Peters and a bunch of others, I have no favorite fictional authors writing medieval mysteries, and although I love Italy and art history, I'm not an addict of the Ian Pears art history mysteries. In fact, two of them were among the sack of books dragged to the used book store. The only exception to this rule seems to be Roman history, because I love Colleen McCullough's First Man of Rome books, as well as a few other series set in that time period. At any rate, we'll see how I feel about these two.

10:12 p.m. - 2003-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce