Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tarcon!

Holy Mother of Pearl. TARcon and my visit with Natalie both kicked ass. I'll post pics when I have them developed, but I didn't really take all that many. In fact, I got a hug from RacerJeff that I didn't even bother to document, because I was thinking that they were kind of sick of it. (Actually, I think that many of the racers were kind of geeked about it, after the initial noncomprehension at the wave of people screaming and fighting to get near them.)

I rode up on the Amazing Train, which was Amazingly delayed, leading to a string of unfortunate events wherein I missed meeting Lone Pine at the train station. We found each other at Q Lounge after the finale aired, so all was not lost. I would have been a little happier if I had had a friend to go with, just for moral support, but even without this, I had loads of fun. People just wanted to talk and snark and laugh and drink and, in several cases (documented on film!) grab Racer Ass.

I spent the night with Lone Pine and her three cool cats, and then headed out to the Met the next morning for some needed Art History Therapy. Just walking around an art museum makes me happy, and I hadn't been to the Met in a while, so it just felt good. I then took a fucking long-ass taxi trip to Chinatown and joined about a hundred TWOPpers to eat dimsum. Then, back to Penn Station, a slightly earlier return Amazing Train than the one intended on, and a pickup by Natalie for the Delaware portion of the visit.

Hung out that night with Natalie and Baf and ate at a cute little college eatery that could have used some better waiters, but still served up a pretty damn good chicken tenders salad. The next day, Natalie took me to a used-book-store that was a firetrap waiting to erupt into flames, but still had some books that I needed. Then we traisped over to Historic New Castle, an absolutely gorgeous little preserved chunk out of the 1700's. It was a fabulous, blue-sky, cool-breeze, green-tree kind of day, perfect for standing by a river next to an old brick wall, looking into a flower filled garden.

I headed back to home that afternoon, and found the topper on the cake - a package of books from Caerula. What a totally cool thing to come back home to!

I'll write more later...feeling like wrapping this little tidbit up.

10:45 p.m. - 2003-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce