Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alice wants her tea party

This day is dragggggggging by so slowly - there's just not enough to keep us hopping. Tomorrow will probably be just as bad, alas. Monday is off, so Boop and I will go visit the Torpedo Factory and have a good time.

Something must be funky with my mattress, or else I'm just sleeping in a very contorted position, because I've woken up for the past two weeks very stiff, with the same cluster of muscles in my back in an absolute knot. One night, when I was sleeping more lightly than others, I made an effort to change positions frequently, but it didn't help at all. I'm not sure quite what to do, because it's really starting to be a problem. It's also excacerbating what seems to be a mild case of summer insomnia - the fact that our room is really, really warm doesn't help at all. Bleah. At least the humidity has broken, so it's not actually difficult to breathe.

I bought my jar of Double Devonshire cream, Lemon Curd, and the Currant Scone mix. I feel like having a tea party, gosh darn it, so why not? The only problem is going to be where to have the damn thing - I hate hate hate forcing people to come over but having no where to put them. The basement smells like dog and clove cigarettes, and besides which there's only a loveseat, a rickety recliner, and a dubious mattress where the dog likes to sleep. The living room has no furniture, as it was turned into a dance studio, and the kitchen has precisely four chairs. Four. I may talk mom into letting me borrow her living room, but that's dubious, and anyway I'm not sure I want her in any situation where the conversation might swing around to things that I'll hear about from her later. Although I suppose we could do it on the back deck - but do people really want a summer outdoors tea party? Isn't that more an iced tea kind of location? You simply can't do ice tea and double devonshire cream. It doesn't work at all.

Mmm...fresh strawberries, halved with the cream over them...some nice sandwiches with cucumber and curried chicken...fresh made scones...the scotch cakes...toast spread with a little lemon curd...tea with cream and sugar, or maybe a little lemon...some cookies...some cheese straws...sweet and savory both.

Damn. Now I'm starving.

3:11 p.m. - 2002-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce