Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nerves

Home sick today, although I probably could have gone in - sort of a general malaise and poopyness, manifesting itself in nausea and dizziness. I was doing ok yesterday until a few minutes after lunch, when I felt something similar to a sugar crash - weakness, dizziness, and overwhelming nausea. It's possible that a lot of it is a reaction to the new birth control pill I

I'm on, which has kept me in constant mild cramps, but there's a possibility it's also a mild case of food poisoning. So I'm sticking to saltines today, and staying mostly in bed.

Can't stay home tomorrow, though - lots of stuff at work to do, and then Monday begins the wind down of the board meeting and the wind up of Continental Congress and the circus *really* starts. But there will be lots of cool stuff in the gift shop, so I may do a little browsing to keep my spirits up!

Trying to work up the nerve to get back on the phone with the financial counselor to talk about Bemo's financial situation. You'd think that I'd be rushing to get this advice, but I'm hesitant, because it means a change, and that's scary sometimes. I love the idea of change, but when it gets right down to actually doing it, sometimes I need a good kick in the ass to get me over the edge. Inertia, thy name is Genibee.

Boop was over last night and I loaded her down with more books. Now I want books, but all the books I want haven't come out yet - the next book in Song of Ice and Fire, the next Harry Potter, the next Judith Merkle Riley, etc. So I've picked up Octavia Butler's excellent book _Dawn_, which I haven't read in ages, and am reading it. The cover of my copy has always irritated me - the scene chosen to be depicted shows that somebody in the art department read the book, but the black female heroine has been turned into a white woman wearing what looks like a whole lot of makeup. I suppose I should be grateful that she's not in a skintight spacesuit with stiletto heels and a raygun.

Going to go psych myself up and make that call.

2:17 p.m. - 2002-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce