Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forth Eorlingas!

Count me among the Christmas-sick. No, not sick of Christmas, but sick *during* Christmas. The dual mechinations of my boss and FlirtyFeminist have resulted in a scratchy throat, and that unpleasant mucousy sensation at the back of your throat and in your cheeks, where you can actually feel it flowing sluggishly through your sinuses. Basically, I have caught That Which Is Going Around.

I think I'll have to go into work tomorrow, but I'm going to plead that I feel like total monkey barf and ask to simply be the receptionist for the day.

On the other hand, Bemo and I did catch The Two Towers last night, much to my undisguised glee. Peter Jackson was accurate in describing it as the most distant from the books of all the movies, and I admit that some of his choices are a little odd to me. Why the lessening of Faramir's character? Frankly, of the two brothers, Boromir comes off a little better in the movie, although hopefully we'll see Faramir step into his own in Return of the King. But boy, oh boy - Boromir and Faramir are simply too hot to be believed, and Eomer is no slouch himself. I think I'm one of the few who likes Aragorn, but isn't overly impressed by his looks - perhaps it's because he looks great in costume, but so very bad as just his ordinary Viggo self.

Not following the whole "falling off a cliff" thing with Aragorn either, or the 300 vs 10000 Helm's Deep battle figures. The numbers were not nearly as skewed in the books, and I think the Alamo feel that Jackson may have been trying for makes it rather implausable. On the other hand, the quick shot of the young boy in a chain mail coif miles too big, despairing and yet knowing that if the wall falls, his entire people are meat for orcs - it made my heart ache. Lots of times during this movie where I could feel my heart do a slow flip because everything was so *right*.

A bit irritated by Gimli being turned into the running "He's short! Very short!" gag. I wish they kept the line where he selects a helmet with a horse depicted on it, and says that he'd rather bear a horse than be borne by one. And there's a great scene when Gollum is fishing, is caught, and told that the penalty for fishing in that pool is death. He shoves the fish away and says that he doesn't want it after all. Would have worked very well in the movie.

Maybe more comments later, but I think I'm going to go put hot compresses on my face. Blergh.

2:35 p.m. - 2002-12-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce