Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My life in verse

I've been sitting on this for a while because I wanted to spend a little time on it. I had seen it before, but mechiach reminded me of it. Some of the quotes may be slightly off as I was doing them from memory.

1.Who are you?

�But, I beseech your grace, pardon me: I
was born to speak all mirth and no matter.�

Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing

2.What do you look like?

�It was her scars that made her beautiful.�
Mary Gentle, Ash: A Secret History

3.What's your secret?

�I have been one acquainted with the night.
I have walked out in rain�and back in rain.
I have outwalked the furthest city light.�
--Robert Frost

4.What do you want to be?


�Be happy, those who may
for what�s to come is still unsure.�
--Lorenzo De Medici

5.What can you do?
�Reading means being ready to catch a voice that makes
itself heard when you least expect it, a voice that comes
from an unknown source, from beyond the book, beyond
the author, beyond the convention of writing: from the unsaid,
from what the world has not yet said of itself and does not yet have
the words to say.�
--Italo Calvino

6.What can't you do?

�I won't dance, how could I?
I won't dance, mer�i beacoup�
-Will Young

7.What is love?


�I measure time by how a body sways.�
--Theodore Rothke, �I Knew A Woman�

8.What is friendship?

�Why? Because we love you!�
Mickey Mouse Club song

9.Are you strong?


�Well you may be king for the moment,
but I am the queen, understand?
And I got your pawns and your bishops and castles
All inside the palm of my hand.�
--Poe, �Control�

10.What are you afraid of?


�I know death hath ten thousand several doors
For men to take their exits; and �tis found
They go on such strange geometrical hinges,
You may open them both ways; any way, for Heaven sake,
So I were out of your whispering. Tell my brothers
That I perceive death, now I am well awake...�
--Webster, The Duchess of Malfi

11.What would you do with a million dollars?

"A man who has not been in Italy, is always conscious of an

inferiority, from his not having seen what it is expected a man

should see."

--Samuel Johnson

12.What would you tell the one who loves you?
�You�re my corner and I�ve come to hide.�
--Sayers, Busman�s Honeymoon

13.What do you want to do?

Gondolier: Ciao, belle donne! Vorreste andare nella mia gondola e vedere il

curore segreto di Venezia?

Genevieve: Grazie, ma non possiamo andare adesso, perche vorremo cenare primo. Sarei qui in due ore? Andremo con te, dopo la cena.

Gondolier: Santo cielo! Non posso prometervi niente. Sono molto populare con le ragazze.

Genevieve: Quanto costa un�ora? Vogliamo vedere le piccole canale. Saranno solo due persone.

Gondolier: Per voi, faro� pagare cento mille lire. Ma, io cantero� e visiteremo la piu� bella area di Venezia. Ragazze, da dove sei? Siete Americane?

Genevieve: Si, siamo Americane. Siamo da Pennsylvania.

Gondolier: Transylvania? Come Dracula? Il vampiro?

Genevieve: No, no! Pennsylvania! Nella costa orientale degli Stati Uniti.

Gondolier: Se io vi prendero nella mia gondola, gridiate come Dracula?

Genevieve: Perche no?

14.Where do you want to be?


��that still centre where the spinning world
turns on its axis, to the heart of rest�
Sayers, Gaudy Night

15.What do you want?

�You who see all my unworthy and wicked sufferings;
invisible, immortal King of Heaven: help my strayed
frail soul and help fill out with your grace
all that she lacks, so that, though I have lived
in war and in storm, I may die in peace and in port.
-Petrarch

2:28 p.m. - 2003-05-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce