Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This just in...

Went to the polling station with all the best intentions, only to discover that the DMV did *not* notify the voting people that we had switched residences, as we had requested. So, basically, that little box that says, "Check to have your voter registration card?" Useless. Frigging useless, especially since they failed to do it for both me and Bemo.

Not that, you know, I really give a shit about which person won, because, like the Founding Father I am apparently most like (see previous entry), I have little faith in people, despite a faint burning ember of hope that says, "Aw, come on, they're not *that* bad." Little faith in people means that I have about zero faith in politicians, because I've never encountered one that seems to be a reasonable, sane, caring human being. This could be because I work in Washington, D.C., which is the lair of the common Politician (uninterruptus nonsensicus), or maybe I just haven't been looking hard enough.

I will say, however, that any time the President, the House, and the Senate are all one party, no matter which party it is, I get a little nervous. Having the various wings of the government fighting all the time isn't great, and you don't get much done, but neither do I want a Congress that is simply rubberstamping whatever the President desires because they're all on the same team.

So, color me cynical (Crayola does make that color, right? A sort of orangey-red? Or is that Burnt Sienna?).

11:02 a.m. - 2002-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce