Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Genibee and the Discovery of the Walmart

So, every Borders around here claims to be sold out of Harry Potter. So where did I get the copy currently plunked on my desk?

Walmart.

(My snarky response to discovering this was that people who usually go to WalMart can't read, but it's actually because they happened to get a shipment and put it out, while apparently the Borders around here just haven't gotten any yet.)

I just realized that while jotting a note on a schedule for the annual meeting here, I wrote "Georgia Room - two chairs every daily." I need to go flog myself with a Harbrace College Handbook.

Bemo and the boys didn't win the Battle of the Bands last night, losing to Mod Flanders (which wasn't altogether surprising, actually). What was interesting was that as they were offloading the stage, every last one of them was cursing about their "shit on ice" performance - apparently the monitor by the drum kit was cutting out through large swathes of the performance, and the drummer couldn't hear anybody else - but they still had a lot of people walk up and congratulate them on "the best set I've ever seen you guys do, man!" Cherbear and Persia showed up, for which Bemo thanks them heartily. I'm pretty sure that they weren't exactly into the music (I confess that I'm not a huge fan of the stylized sort of Queensreich-only-screamier-and-with-a-little-Type-O-Negative-thrown-in singing that the lead singer does) but it was totally cool of them to show up and vote. And wonder of wonders, since they played early, everybody was able to get in at a reasonable hour. I was worried about Bemo, who is fighting a strep throat, but he felt well enough to go into work this morning, so plusses all around.

Must go work on my working bibliography so that my two taskmistresses don't kill me *g*

9:40 a.m. - 2003-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce