Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kitten dilemna

I have a kitten dilemna. Little Dexter is still with us, and while he's a darling little beast, he still runs from Bemo most of the time, and runs from me frequently (although he seems to trust me more often, which is possibly due to Bemo's very deep voice worrying him). I thought for a while that we might have already subconsciously made the decision to keep him, but Bemo and I talked briefly about it tonight, and he said that he really wanted a cat that was interested in spending time with him - one who was more cuddly and who would sit on the couch with him so they could watch tv together. Truly, while Dexter tolerates me, there's only one thing in the house that he loves, and that's Gracie. (well, Gracie and playing with the toilet paper. But that's a seperate issue.) I want a cat for me, not for my other cat, if you see what I mean. My biggest worry is that he's going to be hard to adopt, what with the kitten glut, and him being timid in public. This rescue group is non-kill, of course, but I still fret.

I'm wondering if I should "swap" and let him go back to the rescue lady, taking another kitten or two in Dex's place, hoping to find one that's more sociable. The biggest thing is the adoption fair commitment - I've been lax about going because when my weekends are free, they're precious to me and they fill up quickly, so spending three hours sitting at a place I work, even if I'm not on the clock, doesn't make me happy. And then I wonder if I'm just not taking my responsibilities as a foster parent seriously enough. I think I need to call rescue lady and discuss it, at any rate. I'm sure she'd be willing to get a few younger kittens off her hands, and Dex is old enough where he wouldn't need special kitten treatment.

And, of course, there's the fact that he's such a cute little guy, with ears too big for his head, and an adorable way of running up to Gracie and rubbing against her blissfully, with his eyes squinched shut and his tail up in the air like a flag.

10:12 p.m. - 2004-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce