Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

something worth fighting for?

Swoop asked, in my guestbook, why on earth Bemo and I were interested in buying a house, which is, after all, another major debt. The long and the short of it is basically this - mom wanted it to happen. She wanted it to happen because she feels that paying rent is only marginally more productive than just setting your money on fire - what she hoped is that by providing a fairly signifigant down payment for us, we could get into a situation where a morgage payment would be about what we're paying in rent, so that we'd not be out of pocket any more, but also earning equity.

And it almost happened. By myself, I qualify for a very tiny housepayment, but if we went further south, it could be done - it's just too close for a morgage company to risk. (And this wasn't a Fannie Mae place, and so may have been more stringent.) But we can't apply for the right kind of loans because Bemo is not in good graces with the feds right now (defaulted student loans) and also, including his credit information would be useless because it's so bad that it burns the paper it's recorded on.

Mom has said, by the way, that she will not give us some of the proposed down payment to put towards student loans. She feels that Bemo needs to quit this silly radio buisness and just get a job at Petsmart or the garden center or whatever and bring in some money so we can pay his bills, buy a house, and then he can go do whatever he wants to do in radio. (I *told* you she was obsessed with us getting a house. Because getting a house means I'll get pregnant, in her view. That's another story, though.)

While I agree, in principle, with the idea of Bemo just sucking it up and getting a job, any job, I also know that the only reason he's useful at the station is because he's flexible. So, yeah - maybe he just needs to tell them to kiss off, and he'll work for them on the weekends. That's probably for the best. For what it's worth, he's got two interviews at local temp agencies at the end of this week, both of which claiming that they'll look for temp-to-perm situations for him. He's also going to go to the open interview day at Petsmart. But, you know, it would be kind of weird for me to be his supervisor. But anyway.

Cher thinks I may be enabling him, as my mom does (she noted that now that she's agreed with my mother, pigs are no doubt taxing down runways all over America) and I suppose it's true. I tend to treat him like something fragile, and that's not fair to him, and the situation is not fair to me. Maybe I need to get angry more, but that's so unproductive. I'm not sure of the best way to handle all this mess.

8:54 p.m. - 2003-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce