Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quilting bee

My first day at work actually being productive! I helped pull some quilts out of storage, and am beginning to learn some of the patterns (Baltimore album quilt, Rose of Sharon, Robbing Peter to Pay Paul, and so on) and handling older fabrics. Tomorrow, we size backings for them, so they can be hung in their display cases. It's funny - one of the women I'm working with is perfectly nice to me, but displays an interesting degree of very casual, offhand cattiness towards other people who work there. It's a little disconcerting. I'm going to need a primer on office politics, although I don't think it's a particularly tense office. I'm not good at that sort of thing, so I'll simply maintain a naive good-humor and be cheerful with everybody. Always safer that way. I've already been told I need to be firm with people, or they'll take advantage of me!

Spent some quality time with T in the pool today - made up for the fact that he was late picking me up at the commuter lot, and I ended up walking home. I was not a happy camper. It's gotten to the point where we *need* a cell phone - we've had several incidents where one would have saved infinite time and trouble, not to mention my frazzled nerves. When I get mad, I pull away, even when I don't want to, and I don't like myself much when it happens.

11:30 p.m. - 2001-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce