Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lake Placid

Spent most of the evening at the DMV, which, since the remodeling about four years ago, is not the vestibule of hell that it once was, but actually remarkably easy to cope with. They assign you a number at the door, based on what you're having done, and then you wait until the computer calls your name and shows you which window to go to. Things move much faster.

Um, not that it helped me much. Only one of the tasks we went there to accomplish got done, because stupid idiot here left her organizer in ANOTHER STATE. And it has her SSN card in it. D'oh! So T has his new Virginny licence, but the car is ...less than legal.

T's mom is out of town, so the house is ours. It's nice - not that she's gone, mind you, but that the house isn't full of the choking cloud of cigarette smoke. I don't have that nicotine taste at the back of my throat, and the cat doesn't reek of Virginia Slims. It's a nice change of pace. Tim's mom is doing us a huge favor by letting us stay in the basement in exchange for some chores like oil changes and suchlike, but I swear, I can't take the smoke for much more. It gets into EVERYTHING.

Some listsibs pointed out that it was mostly one particular person making the insensitive comments on the list, something I hadn't quite noticed. So not only am I placid, but I'm unobservant. *g* I'm still not outraged, but it is bad manners of the person. A private email to her might be appropriate, if it keeps on going. I do understand the hurt she caused.

I probably have my own little set of topics that I have strong feelings on, it just happens that weight isn't frequently one of them. Just wait until somebody hits one of my trigger spots. Onr button is marked Puppy Mill, and triggers a very lengthy lecture until my listener's eyes roll back in their skulls and they feign death to get away. Another button is marked My Right To An Opinion On Art (it's very small print) and it prompts a lecture on art appreciation, education, and museums, and you must chew your arms and legs off and hunch away, inchworm-like, to get me to stop.

So maybe I'm not so placid after all. I just fake it to lure people in, and then *whang!*

And if anybody's interested, once I'm settled down I plan to start lifting weights via this plan: http://www.stumptuous.com/weights.html

9:54 p.m. - 2001-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce