Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Various moving rants

Drove up to State College yesterday. It was a day that completely didn't go as planned - a simple brakepad replacement went Horribly Wrong, and we had to buy new parts for the car, I got lost trying to find the bank in DC where I could cash out my paycheck (which was a bit smaller than actually calculated...I was a bit less evil than the federal government when it came to calculating my taxes), and we finally got on the road much later than we wanted to. The whole way, I was plagued with this edge-of-hysteria feeling, where I wanted to scream, or cry, or yell obsenities. I wasn't sure if it was a general malaise, the odd feeling of returning to a place to finalize your exit from it, or a depression that, once again, money was going to be tight and my first paycheck was not a magical panacea. (That sentence feels so gramatically wrong that I'm not going to look at it again, so I don't have to fix it.)

Anyway, I'm feeling better now, although not exactly unstressed. The U-Haul place is the only rental agency that has a moving truck in stock, and the only one they have is about eight billion times too big for what we need, so we're hoping very very hard that tonight somebody turns in a smaller one. For crying out loud, we could put our entire apartment in the one they have for us! We should have reserved a truck long before this, but - you guessed it - no money to do so.

Reading the first two Harry Potters, and wondering vaguely that if Muggles aren't supposed to know about wizard-folk, then how are ordinary people supposed to cope when a wizard-child pops up in the family? Do they get sworn to secrecy? Very ineffective system, if you ask me.

Fantastik With Bleach is an excellent cleaning agent. I don't think my stove has ever been quite as shiny...and the only reason it's this clean is because we're LEAVING.

2:15 p.m. - 2001-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce