Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day of rest, my ass

So, Sunday was pretty much hellish. We did get the smaller truck, which was great, but the fact that we had to wait until Sunday to start packing the truck meant that Saturday was wasted, and that we had way too much to do on Sunday. We didn't leave State College until eight-thirty, and then promptly had to detour off the interstate at Altoona, because of the Tour de 'Toona, a bike race that was still going on at that hour, and which they felt more important than the hundreds of cars that had to roll through town instead of zipping past on the interstate, interfering with no-one. We didn't get home until about two am, and after showers, some basic unloading of my car (didn't want to leave the computer CPU in the Neon while T was at work), we got to bed...and I promptly proceeded to stare at the ceiling for a few hours. I was exhausted, achy, sore, and sleepless. Thus, I am not very aware this morning, and we still have the truck to unload, because it needs to be back at the U-Haul tomorrow.

All of our adventures in State College cost more money than expected, so I'm going to have to prevail on our long-suffering landlady to let us pay her a little later than I said I would - the seventeenth, date of my NEXT paycheck (Yes, my first one is gone. Gone gone gone. Vanished. Eaten up. No longer here.) Plus, I need to pay car insurance, and begin paying my credit cards again (ignoring them for several months is not a good strategy. I strongly suggest you not try it, unless, like me, you have no other option...but man, those fees rack up pretty quick, don't they?) At this rate, the soonest I'm going to be able to qualify for a house or a car is sometime in 2020.

Have to give the potential future house-sharer a call this afternoon. People Under The Stairs notwithstanding, we do need to leave T's mom's house pretty soon. So we may be squishing ourselves into two small townhouse rooms, but them's the breaks. At least the house is animal friendly. Very friendly. Very very friendly, meaning there are three cats and a dog, plus my cat, and possibly my dog, and even maybe another cat named Cosmo, who belongs to another friend of a friend who is being evicted and may need a home for him. He's almost a mirror opposite of my Bogie, declawed (and the stupid people are letting him roam outside, where he's getting beaten up by other, clawed cats), and in general, he's a loverboy of a cat. Bogie won't like the competition, but Bogie doesn't like much of anything.

Staring at my computer wallpaper, which is Magritte's "Empire of Light." I love this painting - always have, ever since I saw it in person. The contrast between the bright blue sky above the dark night street with the lamps lit is just shivery wonderful. The Surrealists are a cool bunch of people.

I just learned how to change the paper in a hydrothermograph. I feel special.

2:48 p.m. - 2001-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce