Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book lust

Slow at work, as we're still about halfway through an extensive office renovation. The painting is done in our office, but not the main one, and I'm still out in the hallway, sniffing paint fumes. There's nothing in particular that I have to do, and it's hard to do routine tasks when you're so discombobulated. Tomorrow, they lay the carpet, and hopefully this Tuesday they'll be installing the new furniture, and then we can all move back in and reorganize the office. It won't be a minute too soon.

Checked out the other Ripley books, since I read and enjoyed The Talented Mr. Ripley a while ago (the movie is pretty good, too, although I wonder that the slower pace of the novel didn't make the movie boring for some people. I'm breaking up the books by reading _Rome, the Biography of a City_ which is a good, readable, quick skim through history from the Lupa all the way to Mussolini.

I want money to buy books, darn it. I like the library, and I'm using it more now, but there's something about recieving that lovely Amazon package, with those new, glossy, enticing books lying there in the bubblewrap, waiting for you to open them up. There's nothing better than that!

Do they let bookshelves on the Metro? I may have to drag a little two shelf bookcase down to the Metro and home, because otherwise I don't know how to bring it home, and I realllllly need it. It's horribly ugly, but I can repaint. I think my little discourse above about bookbuying lets everybody know why I need the case!

4:08 p.m. - 2001-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce