Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can teach you to bottle fame...

Been a busy weekend, and it's only Saturday! Oops...checking the clock in the corner of the computer...Sunday, that is. But early. I'm debating staying up to see the meteor shower, but I'm not sure that there's anyplace nearby that's dark enough to really see them.

Friday, T and I went to see Harry Potter. Bless the man - he hasn't read the books, and could care less, but went along with me anyhow, because he knew I really wanted to see it. I enjoyed it thoroughly, although it's by no means a perfect movie. However, it fits in with my own visualizations of the film. My only request was - more Snape! And less bombastic music, please. I think there could have been a little more judicial editing - they kept stuff that could have been shortened or eliminated, and ommitted stuff that worked well to explain the plot - but it's a difficult book to capture because it's very much an indepth exploration of a *place* through Harry's eyes, and the plot isn't as crucial to this book. The other books have tighter plots, and I think that it will cause the movies to be better. Oh, I do also wish they had let Dumbledore be a little more batty, and a little less Gandalf meets Obi Wan Kenobi. They did it in the end, with the earwax Botts Every Flavor Bean, but I cringed a bit with the whole "love" speech. It just hit my saccherine button too hard.

I want to go study at Hogwarts.

Today, I went to the zoo to meet a listsib. Had a fabulous time romping through the zoo with her and her friends. More on this later, I think - I'd like to devote an entire entry to it, because it was so much fun.

And this evening, a quiet dinner with friends who I haven't seen in a while. They came over to hang out, and to meet Princess Grace, and to Debate Things Loudly, always a favorite passtime when we get together. I love the meaty conversations I have with my friends - they can span from cute actors to Afghanistan, and back again, and it's always interesting. There's lots of disagreements and agreeing and yelling, and interrupting, and laughing, and flinging of pillows.

Ok. Gotta get to bed, or go do something a bit more active, or I'm going to fall asleep, and then I'll never see the meteors.

1:06 a.m. - 2001-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce