Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Zoo babes

So, I never did see the meteors (big surprise). I wandered upstairs, lay down on the bed, and before I knew it, I was curled up into a little ball, sound asleep, with Bogie wrapped around my head, purring.

I did want to chronicle my listsib visit with Nataleeeeeeeeee a big longer (I'll go back and turn that into a link with her diary, if I can remember...). I haven't been to the zoo in ages and ages, and for once, all the animals were out and not hiding from me! We met up at the main gate, and she was very easy to spot (blue hair is quite conspicuous, especially the nice, smurf-blue she has working). She was with several friends of hers, so it was a nice, big gang to barge around the zoo with. We saw more types of storks than I think I knew existed (retracting wattles?) and made special trips to see the baby giraffe, the pandas, and the reptile house. The baby giraffe was adorable, although he didn't come out from behind his little pen. The pandas were adorable. (I will admit to never having seen them before, despite living here just about my whole frickin' life). The reptile house was full of screaming children, and since Natalie and I were not permitted to trample them or feed them to the komodo dragon, we waited outside for the rest of the group to catch up to us.

Natalie has a strange desire to see animals fight. Bloodthirsty wench, she is. I think it was the flamingos pecking at each other that stirred her Roman-in-the-Colusseum instincts. (Ok, I admit it, seeing flamingos fight is really, really funny. Especially when they're still standing on one leg).

My favorite momemt was the tiger, who was howling at the door of his enclosure to be let in, just like Bogie when I'm in the bathroom. A cat is a cat is a cat, I suppose, especially when it comes to a closed door.

I would have loved to go to dinner with Natalie and the gang, but I had made the aforementioned dinner plans with A and C, and didn't want to break them. So a good time was had by all.

And I got a whole stack of books from the library on Sunday, so I'm happy. I will list them below.

Susan Howatch's _The Wheel of Fortune_ and _The Rich are Different._

Muriel Spark's _The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie_ and _Territorial Rights_.

Beppo Severgnini's _An Italian In America_

8:35 a.m. - 2001-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce