Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A cup of kindness

It's the new year, and my biggest impulse is to say, "Thank god." The whole year wasn't a bad one, but as I mentioned to a friend a month or so ago, it's been a very bad autumn, and not so great a winter. (reminds me of the scene from _The Dark is Rising,_ where a character mentions that it is a bad night, and the day to come will be beyond imagining.) It's not likely that 2002 will be as bad as the autumn of 2001, knock wood, and so hopefully everybody can have a respite from grief and distress.

I am thankful for a good job, health of all my loved ones, Bemo's work at the radio station, and the peaceful passing of a beloved Cat. For 2002 I wish for more of the same, with perhaps my long-wished for trip to Italy with Bemo, some more financial stability, and peace and joy to all my dear friends, whether online or right here next to me.

Spent the night partying with a strange assorted crowd of goths and industrials, thanks to the introduction by my roommate Zee to her crowd of friends. These are the same crop of people who will be descending on us this Friday for our party, along with a good influx of friends of mine, so the mingling should be interesting. Most of Zee's friends are quite nice, but I learned something new last night - yes, Virginia, there are geek goths. Sometimes socially inept means socially inept even if you're in platform Doc Martins, fishnets, black vinyl pants, and a lace up the front black shirt. This means you, guy-who-kept-following-us-around-and-bleating-at-us. The best part of the party was the two bagpipers who piped in the new year for us, with a rendition of Auld Lang Syne, Scotland the Brave, and one other tune, the title I wot not of. Bagpipes give me that primeval chill down the back of my spine. My only regret was that we weren't outside, under the stars, and next to the small bonfire, to hear the notes ring out while the fire crackled merrily. But then, the fire wasn't large enough to have all of us huddle by it, and people at the outer rings would have no doubt frozen in place, like popsicles. You takes what you can gets.

My New Years Resolution - convince Bemo to take up the bagpipes.

1:13 p.m. - 2002-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce