Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why can't writers write FASTER?

Woke up this morning with a numb left food, on account of Gracie-cat was curled up on top of it to the left, and Bogie-cat was curled up against it to the right. My poor little foot (ok, big giant foot) was pinned firmly between two breathing bulks of cat. I'd have been peeved, but they were so damn cute, and any sign that they're getting along is a good thing. I just wish they'd leave my body parts out of it! It's already hard enough to sleep with a cat between your ankles - I wake up very stiff because my body decides that it's more important not to kick them than it is to roll over and ease muscled.

Halfway through Return of the King. I am enjoying the books much more than when I read them as a young'un. I remembered them then as being exciting, but difficult to follow and very dry. They're not as difficult to follow anymore, and I can roll around in the language like a cat in catnip. The same thing happened when I reread Dune. I may try to tackle Stranger in a Strange Land next, since the book disturbed me so profoundly the first time I read it. I may need to view it with older eyes. Persia is trying to get me to read Ann Rand, but so far I have remained resolute. I just don't want to deal with it right now.

I wish:

Michelle Rossner would hurry up and write the last book in the Stars Dispose/Compel trilogy (a very interesting magic/politics story set in Renaissance Italy)

Kage Baker would write the next in the Children of the Company series

George R.R. Martin would hurry up with the next Song of Ice and Fire book

and

Guy Gavriel Kay would hustle his lastest project up.

11:19 a.m. - 2002-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce