Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beautiful day in the old towne hood

What a gorgeous day. It's really difficult to believe that it's January, when you step outside and it's balmy and sixty-five degrees, and it's only eight am. So, of course, I ended up spending the entire day indoors.

Not that it was an ordinary working day, mind you. Today, I got to do something really interesting - go to a seminar on textile care, handling, and cleaning. I dressed mannequins in gowns from the 1800's, learned the proper technique to wet clean dainty lace caps, or big honkin' quilts, and was told why it wouldn't be a good idea to wet clean my wedding dress (which I now intend to get dry cleaned and then, hopefully, sell on Ebay). Mom-in-law has a lace toddler's dress from the 1930's that has yellowed badly, and I think I'll get it clean for her, and then get her a nice acid-free box and tissue to pack it away properly. She wants to keep it from deteriorating any further. The seminar was held in Old Towne Alexandria, at a place called the Lyceum (it's a local museum) and it was lovely strolling over the brick sidewalks and passing the little boutiques, old townhouses, and regular stores that have been camoflauged to blend in. Even the Burger King looked spiff.

Tomorrow, roommate Zee flies to Phoenix for a job interview (I was impressed, but then, she is interviewing for a job with America West, an airline, so it's not really a big deal to fly people hither and yon). I hope she gets the job, because after a while, she could take me and Bemo to Italy for an obsenely cheap rate. Here's hoping.

I'm craving travel like crazy. I want to be somewhere else. It's probably just a manifestation of the Itch, which is caused by the fact that my childhood was marked, every three years, with a move overseas. Even though I haven't had that happen since I was the age my sister is now, old habits really die hard. I just have the vague feeling I should be packing right now.

Or maybe I just have the urge to herbal. I know my cats do, the little junkies. I found the catnip bag on the floor again, dented all over with little toothmarks...

Going upstairs. Will watch West Wing. Feeling guilty about missing X-Files so often these days, because the show is still good (despite the fact that this is its last season - Robert Patrick kicks major booty) but my Sundays have become precious to me, and I find that I'm out of the house when X-Files are on. Guilt over tv shows is stupid. I need to get over it.

7:33 p.m. - 2002-01-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce