Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why didn't I become a plumber?

The electrician came yesterday, put a three dollar part in to replace the toasted one, and charged us seventy bucks. Remind me why I chose Art History as a career again?

Spent last evening at the Barnes & Noble, studying in the cafe, sitting on what was possibly the most uncomfortable chair in the universe, at the smallest table in the universe, with the worst art history book I have ever read. It made Jansen look coherent. I ended up browsing through a Sister Wendy art history book (you know, the art nun with the lisp over on PBS, who is wildly popular because people love it when a nun talks about naked people), and actually found it more helpful because it had cool timelines.

I had to chuckle - one of the Italy Four, who is at her first job as an assistant registrar, was presented with an object to condition report that was worth beaucoup bucks (over a million dollars). She got nervous, picturing herself accidentally damaging it and, as she put it, "destroying her budding career" and so she deferred it to the registrar. Remind me to email her and bust her chops about it! I'm thrilled that she's enjoying herself so much.

In a new low, even for mom, she is preventing Boop from attending a really interesting 12 day youth leadership conference because - are you ready for this? - it would make Boop get behind on her cleaning chores. Never mind that this is a great opportunity, that Boop would meet interesting people and learn interesting stuff and get to go to interesting places, because god damn it, if the friggin' floor isn't cleaned every evening, heads will roll, and mom will be incapable of doing laundry. (Mom has a pathological thing about laundry - if the dog farts in the basement and makes the place stink, then mom can't go and do laundry, because things will "get dirty." I *wish* she'd up her Prozac dosage, already. She's making Boop lovingly contemplate thoughts of mayhem.

Anyway, I'm updating at work, and I shouldn't be, so I'm going to go away and try and photograph some writing on a button. Yes, my life is a series of one thrilling adventure after another, why do you ask?

9:56 a.m. - 2002-03-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce