Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Skidding merrily home

Snow. It snowed on Sunday, beginning with light "showers" as I was leaving State College, to full-blown fluffy flakes, sleet, freezing rain (no, I don't know what the difference between sleet and freezing rain it, but I was going by the radio weather forecasts as I was driving through the stuff), and those tiny little flakes that just about obscure my vision. We're talking roadways covered, sand-truck-following, slip-n-slide down Route 70 weather. It finally tapered off to just rain for the rest of the trip, not that people can drive in rain, either. So it took me an extra hour or so, especially when I hit Fairfax and had to deal with the freakish suburban drivers who can't drive in the rain, and it took me ages just to drive the last eight miles back.

Got shit from Bemo because I didn't phone him on Friday - he panicked when he didn't hear from me and got everybody else all upset, which is odd because I know I don't make a practice of phoning him. I didn't do it the last three trips, so I wasn't sure why he decided to worry this time around, but in the future, I'll just phone him. Although knock wood, I won't be doing this trip too much more - just for library books and stuff like that.

Despite the fact that I think I did well on the test, I can't sit back and comfortably believe that I passed. The fact is, a lot of it depends on whether or not the professor is in a mood to be lenient with you. Some are more hung up on correct ID's, while others don't care if you're not exact, as long as you talk intellegently about the subject. For example, one of the slides was a Baroque church that I didn't know. But I talked about baroque architecture. For some professors, that's a passing slide, for others, that's a failing slide.

Oh, and that last slide I couldn't remember - it was Tatlin's Monument to the Third International, an interesting model for a building/monument that was never actually built. It was intended to rotate at different speeds, and crazy shit like that. Boy, those wacky Soviets! What'll they think of next?

Anyway, it was a good trip, test notwithstanding, and it wasn't marred by my getting a ticket, or anything. And I got to eat yummy Korean food and hang out with Chess and NASCAR Elvis Baroque girl and eat yummy butterfinger cookies and play Super Mario Bros. until my fingers fell off. And I'll let you know in a week whether or not I passed. I honestly don't know what will happen if I don't...so maybe you should keep those fingers crossed?

9:15 a.m. - 2002-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce