Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No April Cruelty references here, just blahs

Spent Easter with Persia, Cherbear, and an assortment of friends at a brunch at Cherbear's house. Everybody had a ball - there's just something wonderfully pleasant about good food, good company, and being inside while the rain pelts down outside, with two cats and a dog ignoring each other and trying to get into the salmon plate on the table. Cherbear came back with us to Fairfax, and hung out, ate pizza, and was persuaded into getting a diary here, although she has yet to write her first entry! A very nice Easter, although once again I fought down vague guilty feelings that I wasn't in Mass for any of it. Truth to tell, this whole holiday has kind of crept up on me under the radar, so to speak. It just appeared out of the shrubbery and startled me.

Today, alas, wasn't so great. I went in to the gyn. and got a new prescription for birth control, a new type which I hope will work as well as the old type. There's just something about the whole experience that puts me in a foul mood - hmm, what could it be? The discomfort? The vague embarassment? The fact that while Kaiser is effecient and, as far as I can tell, a skilled organization, one still feels like just another number? Being one of a mob never makes me happy. I also, however, got a prescription for Claritin, so we'll see how that works. I was using Flonase, but it gave me headaches and a very dry nose - nosebleeds not being entertaining, I stopped using it.

The appointments ended up running so late that I didn't go into work after all. I got a huge case of the mopes, partly from the dr's visit, partly from a lingering bad mood that started when my roommate tackled me about back utility money just as I was walking out the door to go to Easter. Yes, I know I'm behind, but there are better times to do that sort of thing. Plus, it turns out that I owe her far more than I realized, so that caused additional grumpies. Well, this April is the last big payment to one of my credit cards, so I'll have the spare money for utilities back in the budget.

I took my mopes into a hot shower, and then a warm bed, with a cat at my feet, and napped for a while, cried a little bit, and basically got it all out of my system. Feeling better now, although I've got that discombobulated feeling that happens when you sleep a lot in the middle of the day.

Oh! I finished the first Book of Ash. Wonderful stuff, and now I have to get the rest of them. They were supposed to be one book, but it's a huge tome, so the US publisher broke it into four volumes and now I have to hunt for the rest of them. I've been on a book-buying mania in recent months. Thank god for used bookstores.

7:53 p.m. - 2002-04-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce