Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bad day all around

Wow, was yesterday a day full of Genibee being a huge crankypants.

We had a gigantic case delivered to work, and as these things usually do in our old, cranky building, it turned into a three ring circus. The movers had to haul it up three flights of stairs (they had fair warning, btw), but their stupid dispatcher only gave them three men despite the foreman of the crew wanting to bring four. When he phoned her with the news that the move would take much longer than expected, and that they really needed the fourth man, she told him to "take a step back and relax," because apparently getting pissed that you're about to break your back due to somebody else's incompetence is just unacceptable. At any rate, it pretty much took the whole morning and part of the afternoon to get the thing up, put in the storage area, and loaded up with the shelves and drawers. Even the drawers were heavy, damnit.

I got over the headache that the chaos caused, and got home to pick up my books and meet Cherbear to return them to the GMU library. I don't drive in Arlington all that frequently, so it turned into a navigation of unfamiliar roads and a metric assload of construction everywhere, plus street parking that simultaneously sucked and blew. My headache returned, and I was surly with Cherbear and just plain mad at the world by the time I got there.

Thankfully, I had TAR, a giant, beat-up but comfortable recliner, and a blanket waiting for me at home. I settled down, got my Diet Dr. Pepper, and tried to relax a bit.

TAR's episode that evening was in Sri Lanka, an area which everybody knows was hit particularly hard by the tsunami. The show handled it very sensitively, and I knew that they'd be there tonight, but I unexpectedly burst into tears during the episode - not during the opening statement discussing it, but when Phil's narration kicked in over scenes of Colombo. The thought that kept running through my head was, "How many of these people aren't alive anymore, despite being here, caught on camera laughing, vibrant and happy?" I settled down after a few minutes, but still found myself sad through most of the episode, which was a very good one.

It was Boop's birthday yesterday - she's 20 now. Happy birthday, Boopers!

10:04 a.m. - 2005-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce