Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You know it's pitiful when your action figures are leading more exciting lives

Am pondering picking up other Lord of the Rings action figures to keep Boromir and Faramir company. You know, a nice Gondorian ranger, maybe Gandalf and Shadowfax, or a Nazgul and his horse to team up with the Orc and keep the two heros on their toes. They can continue to fight epic battles, and I'll even let Enrique, the Beanie Baby octopus, stand in for the Watcher in the Water.

Because clearly I don't have enough to do at work right this minute, so instead I'm fantasizing about making the little plastic people in my overhead storage bin have fantastic adventures.

I could resort to my To Do List, which currently reads:

* Inventory and pack North Carolina Room dishes (except that an appraiser is going to look at them tomorrow and so we can pack them up after she looks as them with no problem)

* Pack spoons, forks, knives in Furniture Storage (all these little guys are just sitting on a shelf and they're taking up a lot of space and need to be consolidated in a box. Except I don't want to go into that dark pit that is Furniture Storage right now.)

* Muslin-wrap and then bubble-pack fireplace tongs and stack them more tightly (You all can just tell how eager I am to do this little chore, can't you?)

Three cheers to my friend Chessica, who is going to be teaching a High Ren class over the summer. Boos for her fellow TA's in the intro to Art History class she's teaching sections for, who have already whined that they don't really want to deal with students and why do they have to because it's so boooooring and tedious and poo poo grody to the max. Chess is a natural teacher, and just can't understand this attitude, and besides which, HeLLO...if you're going to teach after you get your masters or doctorate, it's not a bad idea to start training for it now, ne ce pas?

Off to have some papers signed. I'll use my gold pen that's shaped like an Egyptian Pharoah to do it, so I get some entertainment value out of the whole thing.

Gad, my life is a sad, sad thing.

9:28 a.m. - 2003-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce