Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas

Christmas is closer than I think - we spent the day putting up decorations in a few select rooms for our December 4th open house. Alas, the public may not find all of the rooms fascinating, as people in the late 1700's and early 1800's didn't do much decorating besides putting up some holly or misseltoe, and getting out a punch bowl for some nicely alcoholic carousing. However, our Missouri parlor, which dates to the Civil War era, is being done up with a little tabletop tree which is covered in pressed paper ornaments, flags, and cornucopias full of (fake) candy, and Indiana is being turned into a 1940's WWII room (since the room is interpreted as colonial revival).

If any of you are in DC in the near future (Dichroic? If you can make it by Wednesday I can hang out with ya) stop by and I'll give you the grand tour, and all the juicy details.

Been in a strange mood where I'm starting books but not finishing them. Currently I'm in the middle of Colleen McCullough's _First Man In Rome_, Laurie R. King's _Beekeeper's Apprentice_, Karal Ann Marling's book on Christmas traditions and how they evolved, and Sayers' _Have His Carcase_. I've read all of them before except the Marling book, but I'm not sure why I keep bopping from book to book like this.

Second day of having contacts, and I'm still ridiculously thrilled about it. Honestly, I am so easily pleased. All it takes is something new. Or something shiny.

6:53 p.m. - 2002-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce