Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an acomplishment, at last

[Written yesterday]

I'm sitting in the National Gallery's sculpture garden, getting gently sprayed by water from the big fountain that is its centerpiece. It's a lovely, cool day and my enjoyment of it is increased by the fact that I'm legitimately playing hookey from work. But my good mood is *tripled* by the fact that I'm scratching this out on notepaper from the National Gallery's library, of which I have just become a Reader, card and all.

It's a simply fabulous library - strict, sleek, up-to-date, and staffed by friendly, helpful librarians. You request your books, wait ten minutes, and they appear, waiting for you to take them into the hushed reading room.

I did productive work today. I felt like a scholar again, even if I know I'm not much of one. I'm wishing I had a laptop so I could have sat and written, instead of photocopying all my new material and taking it away to be chewed over elsewhere. I think better in an environment that expects it of me.

11:35 a.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce