Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Avoidance is your friend

If the first day of the new year is supposed to set the pattern for the rest of the year, I�ve got a lot of crying ahead of me. When you�re not prepared for an intense emotional scrutiny of yourself and your husband, when you�re already not in the best of moods and in the company of people you know slightly but who are hardly friends, it�s a recipe for a night of tears and coming close to simply screaming incoherently at everybody and leaving in search of booze or a gun.

Some of what was said to me and Bemo needed to be said. I trust my friends enough to know it was all said in love. It was just not the time or the place, and the manner in which it was said wasn�t all that great either. And a great deal of what was said, was already known intimately by both of us. Although I know it was all meant as friendly advice, it felt like an ambush. It was also very reminiscent of every lecture my mom�s given me in the past few years. Bemo hasn�t got a full time job? He�s not trying hard enough. Fat? You just aren�t making a real effort to do something about it. If you both would just stop obstructing yourself, you can both be like me, secure in job, house, sleeping soundly at night. Bemo held onto his temper like a champ, but I wasn�t as good about holding back some hysterical sobbing. I simply did it in the bathroom with a fist in my mouth, muffling it as best I could. New Year�s Eve isn�t the time to feel like everything would work out for the best if I could simply lie down and die.

Bemo and I had a long talk when we got home, and things are fine this morning, and I suppose we�re both feeling better. But there�s a raw spot that I am resolutely not poking at.

Instead, today we spent some time watching Penn State lose a squeaker to Auburn in a bowl game, eating Cornish Game Hens with Bemo�s mom, and watching an �I Love the Eighties� marathon on VH1. Good times.

8:45 p.m. - 2003-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce