Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baby love, my baby love

Went to visit Schultzie and wife's new baby boy, Andy. He's a cute little mite - a few weeks premature due to mom's high blood pressure, so they popped him out of the oven at about five pounds, but he's already gained a pound and judging by the way he was eating during our visit tonight, he's well on track to pick up any necessary weight toot sweet. It was pretty cool holding him and seeing him regard me with that sober, measuring baby stare. I admit to not feeling any twinges in the wombular area (much to Bemo's relief) but I have the feeling that should I ever fall pregnant, I think I have the potential to be a decent mother. Of course, I say this now, and not after a week of sleeplessness because Baby doesn't like his new formula and is expressing his dislike with vigor out of either end every few minutes. (Apparently that was me, until the late, much-loved Dr. Peacock got me on the right track. And yes, that was his real name, and he was a saintly elderly doctor who had a real knack with kiddies. If I ever do have kids, I hope there's a Dr. Peacock around to help me muddle through it all.)

I need to email Kateh and Chessica, because I've been neglecting them. But I have nothing to say, really - another round of "work's busy, my Saturday job sucks, I spend my weekends watching the Sopranos and Trading Spaces." Nothing's changed since the last email, and nothing particularly juicy that needs to be shared has happened. Which is what differentiates me from Chessica. She can find humor in a trip to the grocery store, and tell the story so everybody in the room giggles along with her.

Got Roommate hooked on Connie Willis. Heh, that's two so far, and one for Kadge Baker.

I am ticked off because I made a special trip to Blockbuster's, Boop in tow, to get the special edition of Lord of the Rings. I was going to make Boop watch it, but when we got back to my place, Roommate's DVD player was toasted. I figured I was just being clueless and not able to turn it on somehow (and Roommate thought the same thing when I mentioned the fact that I hadn't gotten it to work - and she was mildly condescending, as she is so often wont to be). But when said DVD player was prodded in the light of day by Roommate and Bemo, it clinched it. Toasted. No clue why, either. So hopefully Persia and I can watch it tomorrow at her house, and I'll just suck up the late fee. It'll be worth it. Maybe I can lure Boop over to watch it with us, and she can hang out with Persia's kitties again.

11:03 p.m. - 2002-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce