Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snow, movies, and bad band craziness

Let it snow, let it snow...well, somebody sure is letting it snow. And I liiiiike it.

Have to make this a quick one, as three movies are awaiting a quick car ride back to their home, the Blockbuster up the street. Ocean's 11 was boring, and I only watched half of it before deciding I didn't have to finish it. The Robin Williams HBO special was feckin' hysterical. And The Bourne Identity was so good I'm considering adding it to my extremely selective Movie Purchases List. I hardly ever buy the things, prefering to just rent them when I want them, but a few movies make the cut, where I enjoy physically having them in the house. Strange, I know, but I'm also the person who wanders up and down the aisle in bookstores, and if I see a book I own and cherish, I pet it. Genibee, serial book petter. Please don't tell the cops.

Bemo's band played last night, and while it wasn't an unmitigated disaster, it was close to it. The drummer was working on three hours of sleep in the past seventy-two hours, and his drum kit wouldn't stay still on the stage, so it kept creeping forward away from him. He also didn't have a monitor, so couldn't hear the bass or guitar to gague his own playing. This fucked up Noodles, the guitarist, because Noodles depends far too much on Tuffy, the drummer, instead of listening to Bemo on the bass as well, and he got lost in a couple of solos. Bemo was doing ok, except he forgot to bring water up with him, and damn near passed out by the end of nine songs. He was also getting a cold. So, in short, lots of things went wrong, but the venue was such that very few people were paying that much attention. Even the second band, who had their shit mostly together, didn't draw a crowd or get people dancing. It was a good venue to do a bad show in.

Off to brave the snow to avoid late fees. Curse you, Blockbuster and your evil ways!

11:21 a.m. - 2003-02-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce