Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book Nook

Took the day off because I was plagued by a sinus headache that was making me slightly nauseated. Thankfully, there's not too much to be done today at work, so I'll be in tomorrow for the reassembly of the Ohio room and the meeting with the guy from Artex who is taking measurements for our new storage area.

Two people arrested regarding the sniper shootings, and a white van in custody. This might be the end of the duck and cover when filling up the gas tank...

I am craving pizza. Gnnrrn. Thin crust with very little sauce and extra cheese and pineapple. Crispity crunchity pineappley goodness.

Bought Jennifer Weiner's _Good In Bed_, which was enjoyable reading but not quite as good as I expected after the raves of friends. I also wasn't exactly prepared for the indepth father issues that the book went through - as somebody who is still trying to hash out and come to peace (almost said pieces, heh) with her own father issues, I was a bit more powerfully hit by those parts of the book than I expected from what I considered to be a quick "beach read." The plotting occasionally felt like rather blatant wish fulfillment, and then the situation at the end with Joy felt a little weird and forced. Also, may I say, I called the thing with the doctor the first time the two of them sat down and talked. (I'm sure I'm not the only one that did, actually).

I also read the newest Mercedes Lackey book, _Exiles Honour_, which was better than the most recent things she's put out. I am by Lackey like I am with chocolate - I love it but too much of it makes me ill and sugar-shocky. It has to stay an occasional guilty pleasure. But like the Anita Blake books, Lackey's Valdemar stuff is a great world to imagine yourself playing in.

And, last but not least, I finally got my hands on a copy of Terry Pratchett's _Witches Abroad_, which was profoundly amusing, and a copy of Adobe Photoshop for Dummies. I'm attempting to figure out the basics of Photoshop so I can tinker with images all by myself. So, you know, woo and all that.

Need to go scrounge some breakfast...er...make that lunch. Maybe I'll make French Toast again. Yummers.

12:42 p.m. - 2002-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce