Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reading? Who has the time for that crap?

Conversation overheard while slugging into the city this morning:

Two women, discussing a matchmaking that Woman 1 has concocted:

Woman 1: So the two of them were totally talking about the same kind of weirdo things, so I think they�ll get along.

Woman 2: What were they talking about?

Woman 1: You know, Lord of the Rings, and some book they had both read. They�re both intellectual. She�s more intellectual than I am, but I�m funnier. She�s smart, so she�s not funny. And god, who has time to pay attention to all that stuff?

Woman 2: Yeah, you watch Lifetime!

Woman 1: Exactly! I�ve gotta have my shows! I don�t have time for all that other silly stuff. But they both do it, they both read, so I think they do like each other. And I�m not interested in him, so I told her she could have him, but she�s gotta stay away from all my other single friends, because I�m interested in them.

I would be hard-pressed to assemble a bigger bunch of assitude in one conversation if I were paid to do so. I was tempted to whack Woman 1 in the back of her head with my umbrella, but refrained, and instead just sat and ground my teeth.

The car situation is still dicy. I still have not found my crucial red softsided three ring binder that I need so very badly. I have printed out all the necessary tax forms but haven�t mailed them off yet.

In other words, I better stop journaling and start hustling. But if any of you have mental energy to spare, please focus it on helping me find that three ring binder. If I don�t retrieve it from whatever dark corner it�s no doubt hiding in, I might as well take this pencil I�ve got right here (brought to me by a curator who visited Buckingham Palace) and put it right through my eye.

9:53 a.m. - 2004-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce