Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No wonder their insurance prices are so high

Woof, what a week. Work was more interesting than usual, with a film crew filming a shot for an HBO documentary in one of our period rooms � I got to meet the director of Lumumba, who is also directing this one, about the genocide in Rwanda about ten years ago. (It�s called Sometimes in April and will apparently be shown on HBO this coming April). The director, Raoul Peck, is a wonderful man � warm, friendly, and very dedicated, so it was fascinating to hang out and watch him work. The shot they were doing was very simple, with no actors or sound, just a slow pan from a flag outside to a desk inside with newspapers and photographs. It�ll probably be all of thirty seconds long, but they took over two hours to get it just right.

Most exciting of all (for some definitions of exciting, I suppose), I got rear-ended on Sunday, by two clueless little chippies not more than nineteen years old. I was stopped at a stoplight, looked up into my rearview, and realized they weren�t slowing down, and crunch�right into the back of my Ranger. They were all �omigawd please don�t charge us,� which was especially obnoxious as they were driving a friend�s car, and it seems that the driver may not actually have had insurance. I feel sorry for the owner of the car, because although my undercarriage may indeed be fucked (my car is much higher off the ground so his car kind of slid underneath the back bumper), his Corolla looks like somebody took a sledgehammer to it and just bashed the crap out of it. So it means yadda yadda on the phone with the insurance company, and paperwork, which is always a hassle, plus the actual getting the car into a shop and having the thing fixed ordeal. I had to Metro in today because Bemo needs to go teach around midday, so I couldn�t hog the one working car.

In other news, I saw The Bourne Supremacy and loved it (for more details see me over at Capture the Castle). I got a haircut, a sort of layered 1920s-ish bob that I�ve been complimented on, so I suppose it looks good. And I�m all excited about leaving this Friday to spend some quality vegetative time in a West Virginia cabin by a lake. If all goes well, I�ll get some good sleeping done, too. Mmmm, sleep. Oh, and, it turns out I *do* have Bravo after all, so you can pretend I never got hysterical about it in my previous entry.

1:57 p.m. - 2004-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce