Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Someplace I have never traveled

So after this weekend, which will be spent in State College (during grad weekend, unfortunately - but we've already taken the leave and so we'll just suck it up and get a hotel in Altoona) I plan to initiate a new plan.

I'm not unveiling it yet, but I hope people local to the DC area might be able to help, as well as Persia and Cherbear. Right now the working title is Operation: Discover DC. Yes, I know it sounds like something made up by a tourist board, but I'm serious about it. I know very little about DC - where the fun spots are, how to find parking, what historical sites I haven't visited, bladda bladda bladda. Basically, I've lived near this freaking city for at least a full half of my life, and yet aside from a tiny sliver of it, I know nothing about it. And really, I am just learning about the tiny sliver because I now *work* here. There's more to offer, and by god, I want to see some of it.

So today I bought one of those Mapeasy mini-guides that will supplement my very tattered city map. And I will look for places where I want to go, and every once in a while I'm just going to plan an evening out, or an afternoon trip, to somewhere in DC that I've never experienced, or only experienced briefly. I have been advised to walk up and down Connecticut Ave., I want to finally see the National Cathedral, I want to get to know Adams Morgan and Georgetown a bit better.

Very empowered of me, non? Hee!

By the way, I'm still slightly blinded and dazed from the Paula/Simon open-mouthed kiss from American Idol last night. Forget who won, can you say class-action-lawsuit for therapy bills?

12:57 p.m. - 2003-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce