Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Me Dog Washer, You Bison Eater

Petsmart offered me fifty cents more on the hour, solely weekend hours, and the opportunity to meet and greet cute dogs, so I'm going to go wash puppies with them instead of folding clothes and dealing with the Christmas rush at Hechts. I'll start next week with some paperwork, and probably ease into the job next weekend. Hope it all goes well - the head groomer seems like a nice enough person, but was a bit brusque.

Heading out of work this afternoon at noon to take the Metro home, where mom and Boop will pick me up, and then we're off to Duck for what may be a long rainy weekend at the beach. (Not sure if it's as rainy in NC as it is here.) Honest to God, I'm almost at the point where I'd rather beg off, but I know I'd probably regret it over the weekend. It's just that I'm so damn tired, and the prospect of six hours in the car with my mom is not making me dance for glee. She'll be in relentless cheerful holiday "let's try something, anything!" mode, which usually results in something embarassing that nobody wanted to do anyway. I'll probably regret not staying home and snuggling with the Bemo - but then, he'll be off at work for most of the weekend, so that blows that plan to hell anyway.

Picked up Terry Pratchett's _Johnny and the Dead_ last night at the library for fifty cents. Woo!

Today before I leave, I'll be helping out with the fascinating, personal-growth engendering task of pinning muslin quiltbacks to two quilts that will be going up in the gallery. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the museum profession is one of high glamour. Ok, ok - I can't really say that as sarcastically as I'd like. After all, this coming Thursday, I will be eating bison and corn in the company of a few minor DC dignitaries, including one real, life Congresswoman! Can you stand it? Bison! Heh. That's a fun word. Bison.

8:17 a.m. - 2002-10-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce