Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

down, up, down, up, down, up OW

Ow, ow, ow.

I have to remind myself that enthusiasm doesn't make up for being out of shape. I went to aikido again last night, and partook in the last fifteen minutes of the general sparring class, plus the weapons class immediately following.

My ass is sore, y'all. And my knees are screaming at me, "Hey, bitch, what's with the falling down and getting back up and falling down and getting back up!" They are unhappy joints right now - or actually, not the joint itself, but the muscles all around the knee.

Other than the pain, I had a very good time. One of the instructors there was very helpful, and when he noticed I was nervous, paid me a nice compliment or two and worked with me until I could feel the throws coming more naturally. The heart and soul of aikido is redirecting your opponents energy, generally in a circular manner, and when you're doing it right, you can really feel your opponent's balance leave them and they go ass over teakettle. The commute to the dojo is rather a bitch, but they have a sister dojo slightly closer to me that I'm going to investigate. The only problem is that the classes are held in a rec center that I'd have to join. On the other hand, we'd get to use the rec center for everything else, as well.

So, to recap. Sore, but happy.

12:02 p.m. - 2004-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce