Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bitter baby blues

There's no better way to start the morning than with a nice cup of hot chocolate and a lecture by your mother on how your eggs are dying. Ovary eggs, by the way, not the chicken ones in the fridge. I get told that not wanting to have a kid is anti-Catholic, and that I really should be discussing this with my priest. Crimmeny. Even my explanation (not entirely truthful) that we're not doing anything active to prevent a sprog from occuring brought her shock and horror. She does this to me in the middle of a workday morning, so I have to try and give answers on my end of the phone that eager co-workers won't hear. Shouting, "Goddamnit, mother, we are NOT using condoms" just doesn't cut it.

And the fact that I would be absolutely unable to financially care for a child doesn't seem to hold any water with her. She seemed startled when I brought it up - like that old Dana Carvey skit where his parents told him that children can be kept in the pocket and just given a little M&M every once in a while. Face it, people, if I ended up pregnant right now, Bemo and I would end up moving back in with her in order to afford it. Can you see either of us putting up with that? I thought not. Mom sees that Boop is leaving, and would love to have me back in the house, pinned down neatly by a child so that she can have a baby to coo over while having a built in chauffeur and errand girl in me, plus basic handyman and lawn care boy in Bemo. It would be like having one of those delightful servant couples that the Victorians were always so thrilled to get. She'd be thrilled. No having to move back to the Philippines where she would fight with her sisters and have to deal with power outages and dirty tap water! She could stay in the US of A and still have her every whim attended to.

Boop toured the Navigator to her friends yesterday, and I am informed that it has a great sound system. I wish them all much joy of it. And yes, goddamnit, that is bitchy of me. At this point, I'm praying that as it's sitting in the driveway one day, all the wheels simultaneously fall off.

Just finished the book _The Prestige_ by Christopher Priest. Highly Reccomended, although it could have been a bit meatier - I would have liked some *more* to it although I can't point to a place and say "here, fix this." I had this huge stack of library books and none of them were satisfying me until I picked this one up - turns out I needed something a bit darker and more...hrm...supernatural? Something like that, anyway. Anyway, it's a good book and if it comes your way, read it.

9:28 a.m. - 2002-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce