Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Don't touch the Fist of God."

Ok, tech support at Diaryland kindly fixed the problem with my last entry, where only the first paragraph was showing. It was apparently my own dumb fault because I miscoded the html link to the Guster website - didn't know that forgetting a " would cause that to happen. Go back and have another look at it, because there was more, honest!

Devoured _Grave Peril_ last night - I really appreciate Jim's writing, especially since I've soured on the Anita Blake books at this point. Laurell K. Hamilton is a charismatic storyteller and good at creating characters, but that's not worth anything if you can't keep a handle on things. When you start breaking fundamental rules of your world for no good reason, and having your characters spin away from anyting recognizable, you know you have to go back and start some major overhauls. Jim has a good grasp of plotting and characterization; I never go into a scene and go "Wuh? how did we get here?" And I'm not sure why, but I find him to be a better evoker of the "creepy" than LKH. I got the shudders last night, reading in bed. Usually I avoid books that make me sleep with a light on, but for him I'll make an exception.

(I feel I can call Mr. Butcher "Jim" because he's a regular poster to the LKH yahoogroup, of which I am also a member. So 'scuze the familiarity *g*)

The only problem is that now I'm out of book again! Arrgh!

Watched the first hour or so of the Oscars, then abandoned them for the book. I do love Steve Martin, although the pacing was very strange for his monologue. Taken as bits, the jokes were amusing, but they didn't string together well at all. I think that I must see Frieda, because even though it doesn't tackle the art side of her life in any great detail (so I've been told) it still should be worth a look.

You know, I'm willing to entertain discussions on just about any topic at all, whether I'm violently for or violently against it. All you have to do is make me think that you've thought through both sides and have come to a reasoned conclusion. But if you come at me like Michael Moore, all that will happen is that I'll tune you out and find a way to leave the room as soon as possible. For the love of God, somebody needs to tattoo the word "moderation" on the back of his hand. Stop. Yelling. At. Me.

10:16 a.m. - 2003-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce